Response #9 – Wikipedia (Part Dos)

(Sigh).  As I mentioned in my last Wikipedia post, the website is an interesting addition to the Internet.  As I’ve attempted to navigate throughout the website and add my own edits, I’ve come to realize that there really is a “team of natzi’s” as I refer to them, scouring every edit every minute of the day.  I tried – unsuccessfully – to add edits to the  Toyota Venza page, the all-new vehicle introduced by Toyota in late 2008.   

When I started out, I was fairly certain that I had a clear understanding of the website’s “rules and regulations,” of Wikipedia, including NPOV and such.  Apparently not.  I attempted to make two different edits, to no avail.  I was quite simply stating the facts of the new Venza, including statistics easily referenced from the Toyota website. 

I can NOT emphasize this enough. There seems to be a terrible bias among some editors that some sort of random speculative ‘I heard it somewhere’ pseudo information is to be tagged with a ‘needs a cite’ tag. Wrong. It should be removed, aggressively, unless it can be sourced. This is true of all information, but it is particularly true of negative information about living persons.

Jimmy Wales

As Jimmy stated, all unsubstantiated information shall be aggressively removed from the website.  That’s an understatement.  I found it very frustrating to edit any information on Wikipedia – even when conforming to the website’s rules.   Apparently Wikipedia’s webmasters took it personally when the validity of Wikipedia came into question. 

But, given my experience currently with Wikipedia, I assume the validity of the information set forth in Wikipedia is accurate.  Afterall, when they deny factual information that has accurate citations, it must be truthful.  I truly think that quickly perusing Wikipedia for a general idea of topic or person would prove useful, but for in-depth reserach?  I plan on doing it myself! 

But I’m not bitter… 🙂 

 

 

Leave a Reply

